Waste Not, Want Not

So I’ve given myself a challenge, already five days in: I will not go grocery shopping until there is absolutely nothing left in my house that is mine. I wouldn’t want to be culpable for wasting food anymore, and so I’m making a conscious effort to, in the future, eat every thing I buy at the grocery store.

I haven’t been grocery shopping since the second of november and at this point I am reduced to:

  • half a yellow bell pepper
  • four pounds of frozen kale
  • 1/2 a pound of chickpeas
  • 1 1/2 pounds of black beans
  • five pounds of whole wheat flour
  • 8 oranges
  • and 2 onions
  • a pound of oats
  • 1/8 pound of lentils
  • 1 pound of barley
  • 1 accidentally frozen tomato

 

Also there is a box of Cheerios that an old housemate left behind, four very large jack o’ lantern pumpkins from Halloween, and a ton of various coffee creamers in those little cylinders left by the director of my program who brings coffee every friday.

I also get a free meal at work every shift which is causing this experiment to take longer. However at one-two meals a day, just how long can I go with these foods, and how many things can I make with them? Will I come to rely too heavily on grains and legumes? I’ll try and share the more interesting points, and an update when I actually absolutely have to go grocery shopping again.

Already I have learned that watering down half and half (I grew up in a skim milk house) can really stretch out those coffee creamers for use on cereal, without a need for buying milk.

This entry was posted in Foodcraft. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Waste Not, Want Not

  1. nina says:

    sounds like an interesting experiment.
    too bad you don’t have rice- some rice,kale,onions,tomatoes and chickpeas would make a nice meal.a pilaf or pelau of sorts.
    im sure something can be made with the oats,flour,pumpkin and oranges maybe with a crunchy cheerio topping. stew the pumpkin,make a puree,add orange for flavor. mix some oats and creamer and bake till crisp then use that as a topping for the pumpin stuff.

    hmmm,not sure if that would be tasty but i like the challenge you present
    good luck!

Talk Back

