Let the Meat Meat

Just kidding, it’s Let Them Eat Meat, and it’s the site with my first interview as an ex-vegan. I was very excited to share my thoughts with the the blogosphere’s most infamous ex-vegan. Some of the ideas expressed by me are going to be the stuff of upcoming posts, and some of it touches on stuff that I will rarely talk about on this blog, i.e. how I personally consume flesh.

There is something nice about talking to other former vegans, they are, from what I’ve seen so far really chill folks, that still care to varying degrees about the things we cared about as vegans. (Why would we stop)? I think ex-vegans become still talk about veganism because there is no one else to talk to about such issues. Ex-vegans want some semblance of community too.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Let the Meat Meat

  1. Ben says:

    I’m intrigued by the Visser Three comparison. Visser Three’s “abominable” status arose partially from the fact that he abandoned the purity of his initial Yeerk state after falling in love with the sensual experience of inhabiting an Andalite host-body. Your abandonment of pure veganism and your turn to a life of “the flesh” strikes me as a potently congruent parallel, and fittingly “abominable,” you abomination you. Just don’t let the Council of Thirteen find out.

    P.S. I was entertained and surprised by all the flack you got back on V.o.C. Some of the comments played right into your discussion of veganism as progress narrative–“Relapse is an inevitable part of the process”, said Elaine–but the backlash was also interesting because I feel like it brought out a lot of allies who would’ve been silent otherwise (I would guess they feared this happening to them). Someone named T.J. who never posted before said that veganism should not be viewed as an end in itself to be thrust upon everybody. This kind of statement is so rare in vegan forums, conferences, etc., but perhaps it is naive of me to hope that any ideology can allow sufficient flexible room for a critique of itself. I learned more in your incisive analysis of supply and demand than I did reading 10 vegan blogs. Trudging down the path of hard-core body-policing never looked less attractive, my dancing friend.

  2. Ben says:

    P.P.S. What was Rhys Southan like? I’ve always wondered. Did you get the chance to chat with him informally?

  3. Kim says:

    “Ex-vegans want some semblance of community too.”

    So you can convince yourselves that you shouldn’t feel guilty about going back to supporting exploitation?

    • Royce says:

      Because most folks desire community. And ex-vegans often have several things in common including an interest in ethics, health, or consumption.

      Some ex-vegans hang on to that old vegan guilt, but most of us have no need for it.

      And… not all ex-vegans “support” exploitation, at least not anymore than the average vegan does.

Talk Back

